Image via Bungie

Destiny 2 Competitive Ranks, Explained

Destiny 2 with competitive rage.

Destiny 2's Season 19, Season of the Seraph, has been released, and Bungie has completely revamped the competitive ranking structure. It was previously known as the Glory Playlist but is now known as the Crucible Competitive Playlist. This introduces a new competitive ranking system. Once you rise through the ranks, you will get rewarded much faster than you did before.

Recommended Videos

What are the ranks in Destiny 2?

Destiny 2 Season 19 has a ladder of ranks you need to climb, just like any other competitive game. It has an ELO-based matchmaking ranking system that lets you level up as you win games. You will have to play a couple of placement games to get a rank in the first place. There are six ranks in total, which are:

  • Untested - Players who are unranked and are still going through their placement games.
  • Copper (Tier III - I)
  • Bronze (Tier III - I)
  • Silver (Tier III - I)
  • Gold (Tier III - I)
  • Platinum (Tier III - I)
  • Adept (Tier III - I)
  • Ascendant

The higher rank you have, the harder it gets to step up a level on the ladder. If you win a game, you progress through your rank. If you lose, you lose the points. A lower rank means easier promotion, while a higher rank means easier demotion. You will also have to play a few games every week to keep your competitive rank if you are Gold Tier III or above.

Related: Destiny 2 ‘unable to connect to Playstation Network’ – Fixes

Rank-Reward System

If you're a higher rank in Destiny 2 Season 19, the rank multiplier also increases per rank.

  • Copper and Bronze - 1.0x 
  • Silver - 1.1x 
  • Gold - 1.2x 
  • Platinum - 1.3x 
  • Adept - 1.4x
  • Ascendant - 1.5x

These rank multipliers will help you get your power level XP faster and unlock rewards much more quickly than before. Unlike most games, where it just gets tougher at a higher matchmaking rank, Destiny 2 rewards you for your time and effort

For more on Destiny 2's Season of the Seraph, check out All Seraph Shield Exo Locations in Destiny 2 here on Pro Game Guides.

Pro Game Guides is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Rayed Nawaz
Rayed Nawaz
Rayed is a fifth-year student of medicine. His gaming journey started on his hand-me-down PlayStation 1. From that to Xbox, and finally to PC. In his free time, he likes to play FPS and open-world games.

Write A Comment

Destiny 2 Competitive Ranks, Explained

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.