How to play the Uncharted games in chronological order

Greatness, from small beginnings.

Even after more than a decade since Uncharted's first release, the franchise releases a film on the game's lore starring renowned actors Mark Wahlberg and Tom Holland. If you're new to Uncharted's world, you may want to know in which order you need to play the games in. Here, we show you how to play the games in order, both according to their release dates and in chronological order based on its story timeline.

How to play Uncharted games in order of their release

Image via Naughty Dog

Unlike other story-based games, almost every single Uncharted fan will recommend you to play the games following the order of their release dates. Each release gets progressively better in its story and gameplay variety, so playing it based on their release dates will make you appreciate the franchise better as a whole.

The story of Uncharted is straightforward anyway, as you simply follow the protagonist Nathan Drake through all his treasure-hunting adventures. That said, here are all the Uncharted games listed according to their release dates, with the oldest being the first:

  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune (2007)
  • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (2009)
  • Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception (2011)
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss (2011)
  • Uncharted: Fight for Fortune (2012)
  • Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End (2016)
  • Uncharted: Fortune Hunter (2016)
  • Uncharted: The Lost Legacy Expansion (2017)

There's only one game in the series, Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, which shows a brief flashback to Nathan's childhood. There's also only one prequel which was released pretty early on. It's safe to say that Naughty Dog pretty much releases each Uncharted game in a linear manner, narrative-wise.

Related: How to transfer saves to Uncharted: Legacy of Thieves Collection

Note that Uncharted: Fight for Fortune and Uncharted: Fortune Hunter is the franchise's PS Vita releases and are, respectively, a card and a puzzle adventure game, which does not really add to the story.

How to play Uncharted in chronological narrative order

Image via Naughty Dog

If you want to play all the Uncharted games in order following the narrative of the series, you can refer to this list:

  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune
  • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
  • Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception
  • Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
  • Uncharted: The Lost Legacy

The Uncharted: Golden Abyss is a prequel to all the events that took place in the first release, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Afterward, you can conveniently play the games in order from Uncharted 2 until 4, ending with the latest release, Uncharted: The Lost Legacy. Although Uncharted 4 opens with a flashback to Nathan's childhood with his brother, it is very brief compared to the amount of time you'll spend playing the rest of the game, in which the events precede Uncharted 3.

For more coverage on Uncharted, check out Where to find all three Strange Relics in Uncharted 4 and How to get the Uncharted 4 Stage Fright trophy here at Pro Game Guides.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Hi! I'm Iya, a huge fan of games of a wide variety of genres from FPS and RPGs, to casual and story-based games. The Uncharted franchise will always have a special place in my heart.

Write A Comment

How to play the Uncharted games in chronological order

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.