Genshin Impact: Ascension Guide

A guide on Ascending in Genshin Impact.

Genshin Impact is a massive game, and over time it's content is just going to keep getting bigger and bigger! With rumors of what's coming with major update 1.1 are going to have players jumping for joy! However, with the base game alone, there is a lot to take in without including new updates into account. One such thing that is quite confusing is character leveling, as it's not as simple as leveling a character, and that's it. There are multiple aspects to it, such as unlocking their Constellations and Ascending a character. Now, what is Ascending, and how do you do it?

What is Ascending?

Ascending is taking a character and improving it to another level. With this upgrade comes a variety of stat increases, such as Base HP, Base Def, Base Atk, and other stats depending on which character is undergoing the ascension.

Ascending a character is much easier to do so then unlocking their Constellations, but in a sense, is more time-consuming.

A screenshot of the character ascension upgraded stats in Genshin Impact

How to Ascend?

All characters have to level up to level 20 before they can Ascend; however, that needs to be accomplished. Three different types of materials are needed for an Ascension to take place, as well as a hefty 20,000 Mona price tag! Each character's three materials will always be something different. I'll use the Cryo user Kaeya as an example; he needs:

  • 1x 2 Star Shivada Jade Sliver
  • 3x Calla Lily
  • 3x Treasure Hoarder Insignia

You can find out what materials are needed each character by leveling them to level 20 and going to the character menu, and in the bottom right-hand corner, there should be a button that says Ascend. Hit that, and on the right-hand side of the screen should be the stat changes that Ascension provides and the materials required.

Once everything has been acquired, hit that Ascend button, and your character will have Ascended!

A screenshot of the materials a character needs to Ascend in Genshin Impact

What does an Ascension do?

As well as the stat increases, an Ascension allows a player to go beyond the first level cap. The first level cap is at level 20, and no more EXP can be gained without Ascending, so any EXP gained will be wasted. Once a character has Ascended, the next 20 levels str unlocked, up until the next level cap, which is level 40.

When characters then hit level 40, another Ascension can take place, once again. However, this time, 4 items are needed, one item is a 3 Star, another is a 4 Star, and every time you Ascend, the materials needed will be rarer and rarer. But alas, it has to be done to level your characters further!

A screenshot of the materials needed for a level 40 Ascension in Genshin Impact

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Hey, my name is Mark, and I'm a video game enthusiast! My earliest memory was playing Worms on the Amiga against my Godmother, yes the Amiga, massive box type thing, needed eighty-five thousand floppy disks to play one game, maybe a slight exaggeration. Ah, those were the days! I love RPG’s, and The Legend of Zelda series. Dogs are pretty awesome.
Find Mark Carpenter On: Twitter

Write A Comment

Genshin Impact: Ascension Guide

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.