How to play every Assassin’s Creed game in order

That's a lot of assassins...

There are now so many Assassin's Creed games that it is easy to lose track of the order in which to play them. The series started in 2007, and since then it has become one of Ubisoft's biggest household names in gaming. Here are all of the games in order.

Some of you may want to play them in order of release, and some in chronological order of the eras that they depict, so we have included both options below. Please note: there are other properties for AC such as novels and films, but we will only be counting the games here (that are still available).

Image via Ubisoft

In Order of Release

  • Assassin’s Creed (2007)
  • Assassin's Creed: Altaïr's Chronicles (2008)
  • Assassin’s Creed II (2009)
  • Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines (2009)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood (2010)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Revelations (2011)
  • Assassin’s Creed III (2012)
  • Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (2012)
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (2013)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Rogue (2014)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Unity (2014)
  • Assassin's Creed Chronicles: China (2015)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (2015)
  • Assassin's Creed Chronicles: India (2016)
  • Assassin's Creed Chronicles: Russia (2016)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Origins (2017)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey (2018)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla (2021)

Related: How to start the Assassin’s Creed Odyssey & Valhalla Crossover content

In Order of Chronological Era

  • Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (431 BC)
  • Assassin’s Creed Origins (49-43 BC)
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla (873 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Altaïr’s Chronicles (1190 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed (1191 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Bloodlines (1191 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed II (1459-1500 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood (1500-1507 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Revelations (1511 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China (1526 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag (1712-1722 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Freedom Cry - Black Flag Expansion (1735-1737 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Rogue (1752-1760 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed III (1754-1783 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation (1765-1777 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity (1776-1808 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag – Aveline - Black Flag Mission (1784 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: India (1841 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (1868 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Syndicate: Jack The Ripper - Syndicate Expansion (1888 AD)

Looking for more content? Why not check out When Assassin’s Creed The Ezio Collection is arriving on the Switch?

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Hi there! I'm Hannah and I am a guide and news journalist for PGG. My gaming adventures started back in '98 and I have been an avid gamer ever since. You will usually find me playing the likes of The Last of Us, Days Gone (I like zombies), the GTA Series and The Sims to name a few!

Write A Comment

How to play every Assassin’s Creed game in order

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.