How to unlock all characters in Castle Crashers

You might want to take the entire weekend to do this one...

Castle Crashers is a fun and cute little game which will run you about seven hours if you want to go through the game once, but if you want to reach completionist levels it will be closer to 46 hours! To get all the characters in the game it will definitely take you longer than that initial seven hours, but you'll be happy once you get them!

The method for collecting all of the characters is pretty simple, it just requires completing certain levels with certain people, or going through the game with certain characters. Here's how to collect them all:

Image via Wallpaper Cave

Regular Mode Unlocks

  • Skeleton - Complete the game with the Red Knight.
  • Bear - Complete the game with the Skeleton.
  • Fire Demon - Complete the game with the Orange Knight.
  • Ninja - Complete the game with the Fire Demon.
  • Industrialist - Complete the game with the Blue Knight.
  • Fencer - Complete the game with the Industrialist.
  • Royal Guard - Complete the game with the Green Knight.
  • Saracen - Complete the game with the Royal Guard.
  • Gray Knight - Defeat the Barbarian Boss.
  • Stove Face - Complete the game with the Gray Knight.
  • Barbarian - Complete the King's Arena Level.
  • Beekeeper - Complete the game with the Barbarian.
  • Thief - Complete the Thief Arena Level.
  • Snakey - Complete the game with the Thief.
  • Peasant - Complete the Peasant Arena Level.
  • Civilian - Complete the game with the Peasant.
  • Iceskimo - Complete the Icy Arena Level.
  • Brute - Complete the game with the Iceskimo.
  • Conehead - Complete the Volcano Arena Level.
  • Alien Hominid - Beat the Alien Ship Stage.

Related: How to use the Equipment Drone in Risk of Rain 2

Insane Mode Unlocks

Complete the game with any character to unlock Insane Mode.

  • King - Complete the Cave Stage in insane mode.
  • Openface Gray Knight - Beat the Catfish in insane mode.
  • Necromancer - Beat Industrial Castle Level in insane mode.
  • Cult Minion - Beat Ice Castle Level in insane mode.

It will take a few rounds of playing the game to get all of the characters, but after you've grinded for a few hours you will be the proud owner of every single one!

Looking for more game help? Why not check out the best cars to customize in GTA Online?

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Hi there! I'm Hannah and I am a guide and news journalist for PGG. My gaming adventures started back in '98 and I have been an avid gamer ever since. You will usually find me playing the likes of The Last of Us, Days Gone (I like zombies), the GTA Series and The Sims to name a few!

Leave a Comment

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.