All Destiny 2 Campaigns in Order

The first obstacle new players may face upon starting up Destiny 2 is choosing the correct campaign order. Don't worry, you're not alone. There are actually less story campaigns to keep track of as Nov. 2020, which ushered in the Beyond Light era of Destiny 2. This expansion saw the removal (referred to as "sunsetting" or "vaulted") of the game's first three content drops: Red War, Curse of Osiris, and Warmind.

Sunsetted content had its pros and cons. On one hand, the game looked and felt less cluttered without the content most veteran players no longer touched. But, loads of loot were also removed, with way to collect them unless Bungie adds the gear and weapons back in at a later date. New players also no longer have access to a complete campaign, aka the Red War, Destiny 2's first campaign that was 100% free.

One thing's for sure, the campaign order is less complicated than ever, though all campaigns must be purchased separately or as a bundle. In Destiny 2's current state, there is no "correct" campaign to play first, much of the experience ultimately left up to player choice. Though we suggest new players follow the mission structure below if they have never experienced the game's story.

Related: Destiny 2 Codes (May 2021)


The Forsaken expansion, launched in 2018, added a new story campaign, the Scorn enemies, and two patrol zones: the Tangled Shore and the Dreaming City. Since new players enter Destiny 2 with a base power level of 750, this is the recommended expansion to begin your journey, though not entirely necessary, as will become apparent below.

Image via Bungie

These are the missions, listed in order, players will keep track of within the Quests menu.

  • Last Call
  • High Plains Blues
  • Scorned
  • The Mad Bomber
  • The Rider
  • The Trickster
  • The Hangman
  • The Mindbender
  • The Rifleman
  • The Machinist
  • Nothing Left to Say


Shadowkeep, launched in 2019, re-introduced the Moon--a fan-favorite patrol zone from Destiny. In addition to the new story campaign, Shadowkeep added Armor 2.0, a new way to upgrade armor using mods and Upgrade Modules. Should players choose to ignore Forsaken and play Shadowkeep first, the recommended Power Level for Shadowkeep is 760. This is only 10 power levels higher than Forsaken's recommended level and new players can feel comfortable starting here, though they might try out some Strikes and/or Crucible matches to quickly grab some higher gear.

Image via Bungie

These are the missions, listed in order, players will keep track of within the Quests menu.

  • A Mysterious Disturbance
  • In Search of Answers
  • Ghosts of Our Past
  • The Scarlet Keep
  • In the Deep
  • The Nightmare Cometh
  • Beyond

Beyond Light

The Beyond Light campaign, launched in 2020, served as a hard reset for Destiny 2, one that saw much of the game's old content vaulted. The new Stasis elemental type was introduced, with three new subclasses designed around Titans, Hunters, and Warlocks. Bungie also reworked the free-to-play New Light content by re-using the Cosmodrome patrol zone as the guide area for new players. Recommended power levels for Beyond Light starts at 1060, so players should not expect to dive into this campaign unless they use a level booster.

Image via Bungie

These are the missions, listed in order, players will keep track of within the Quests menu.

  • Darkness's Doorstep
  • The New Kell
  • Rising Resistance
  • A Link to the Future
  • Eventide Ruins
  • Asterion Abyss
  • The Warrior
  • Bray Exoscience
  • Praksis
  • The Technocrat
  • The Divide
  • Riis-Reborn Approach
  • Fallen Skiff
  • The Kell of Darkness

Seasonal Content

Image via Bungie

Bungie often releases its largest story expansions (aka Forsaken, Shadowkeep, and Beyond Light) annually each Fall season. But, during the Winter, Spring, and Summer seasons, smaller content drops called "Seasons" progress ensure the game remains consistent with new loot, weekly quests, raids, and more. Seasons are available for $10 and if at this point you've caught the Destiny 2 hardcore bug, new seasons are typically 10 bucks well-spent.

For more Destiny 2 guides, check out Destiny 2 Weekly Reset [May 18] Time, Legacy Activities, Nightfall, & More and Destiny 2: Where is Xur? on Pro Game Guides.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Rob is a writer for PGG and a long time lover of games that started with a GameBoy Color and a PS1. You can follow him on Twitter @robdutowrites to hear his latest gaming and movie thoughts. Somewhere, he's probably eating popcorn.
Find Robert Sperduto On: Twitter

Write A Comment

All Destiny 2 Campaigns in Order

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.