Project Zomboid is a high-stakes survival game set in a zombie apocalypse. You can play alone or multiplayer across a hardcore open world. You have numerous options for customizing your world, including soft resets. But this may leave you wondering what a soft reset does in Project Zomboid.
What is a Soft Reset in Project Zomboid?
Soft resetting in Project Zomboid is a tool that will wipe out certain aspects from the world. This feature has undergone some changes over time but has now reached a state where it is being left alone. Here is what happens when you soft reset in Project Zomboid.
- Resets zombies.
- Resets the game clock.
- Removes items from the ground.
- Remove items from containers and adds new loot, including player-made containers.
- Removes corpses and zombie players.
- Removes blood splatter.
- Resets building alarms.
A soft reset in Project Zomboid will not delete player-made buildings or reset a player's inventory. It will also not wipe characters, meaning you can continue playing as your current character. This is a great tool for getting more loot and changing the world while maintaining your inventory on a server.
For more information on Project Zomboid, check out How to barricade and board up windows in Project Zomboid and All Project Zomboid Moodles and how to deal with them on Pro Game Guides.