All WoW Games in Order – World of Warcraft Expansions List

Feeling old yet?

With World of Warcraft Dragonflight's release, WoW now has nine expansions added to the base game released back in 2004, an incredible 18 years' worth of post-launch content. Here's a list of all World of Warcraft expansions in order.

All WoW Expansions in Order

  • World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade(2007): The Dark Portal opens, and the twisted land of Outland is revealed to the whole of Azeroth.
  • World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King(2008): The Frozen Throne simmers with the Lich King's corrupted will. Venture into Northrend and put down the fallen Prince Arthas once and for all.
  • World of Warcraft: Cataclysm(2010): The world heaves with torment as the fallen Aspect, Deathwing, breaks free of Deepholm, destroying Azeroth in the process.
  • World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria (2012): The mystical land of Pandaria reveals itself to the rest of Azeroth.
  • World of Warcraft: Legion (2016): Continuing from the events of the Burning Crusade, the Burning Legion invades Azeroth once more, through the Tomb of Sargeras.

Related: When do you unlock Dragonriding in WoW Dragonflight?

  • World of Wacraft: Battle of Azeroth (2018): With the discovery of the rich resource, Azerite, the Horde and Alliance renew their bloody rivalry, with the hopes of obtaining more Azerite than the other.
  • World of Warcraft Shadowlands (2020): Sylvanas destroys the infamous Helm of Domination, tearing open a rift between the world of the living and the dead.
  • World of Warcraft Dragonflight (2022): Years after the events of the Shadowlands, the Dragon Isles reveal themselves to the rest of Azeroth, prompting the Horde and the Alliance to explore it hand-in-hand instead of through bloodshed.

For more content on World of Warcraft, check out our guide on the Best Add-ons for World of Warcraft Dragonflight (2022) right here on Pro Game Guides

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Darrus is a creative-minded individual with a passion for all things gaming. As both a seasoned writer and game developer, he charges headfirst into the line of fire, taking on anything the industry has to offer him. The RPG genre is his home base.

Write A Comment

All WoW Games in Order – World of Warcraft Expansions List

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.