How does the pity system work in Genshin Impact?

Roll for pity!

Genshin Impact uses a rarity system to determine which characters and weapons have higher base stats than others. While weapons start from one star and go up to five stars, characters are only categorized by two tiers—four and five stars. The gacha only drops four and five-star characters and weapons, but those of a higher rarity have lower drop rates, making them harder to get. Luckily, Genshin Impact has a pity system, which guarantees you characters and weapons after a certain number of wish attempts.

There are two types of banners in Genshin Impact: standard and event. The standard banner contains the same pool of characters and weapons all year round, while event banners feature specific characters and weapons on rate-up, and rotate every 20 days or so. Pity is not shared across these banners, so read on to find out the system for each.

How does the standard banner pity system work in Genshin Impact?

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

The standard banner pool is the same all year round and doesn't welcome new characters or weapons. It contains a mix of both weapons and characters, and there is no distinction between their pity systems. If you're aiming for a newly-released character, opt to wait for their featured banner instead.

The standard banner pity is as follows.

  • Five-star character or weapon: one every 90 wishes
  • Four-star character or weapon: one every 10 wishes

Related: How to claim and use the alternative skins for Jean, Rosaria, Amber, and Mona in Genshin Impact

How does the featured character banner pity system work in Genshin Impact?

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

Event banners feature one five-star and three four-star characters on rate-up, so they can be pulled at a higher rate compared to other characters. However, the pool also consists of the standard banner characters (up to five star) and weapons (only four star). If you're aiming for a specific character, it's highly recommended to pull for them on their featured banner, as you're guaranteed to get them through a 50-50 pity system.

Here's what you're guaranteed of getting.

  • Five-star character: one every 90 wishes
  • Four-star character or weapon: one every 10 wishes

And here's how the 50-50 pity plays out.

  • If the five star you pull is a standard banner character, your next five star is guaranteed to be the featured character.
  • After pulling for the featured five-star, your next pull has a 50 percent chance of being a standard banner character or the featured character.

Concurrent banners share the same pity counter and 50-50 system. Additionally, the 50-50 pity also applies to four-star characters, but there's no guarantee on which of the three you pull. With that said, the best strategy for a guaranteed featured character is to always have at least two pities worth of Primogems saved up in case the 50-50 fails.

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

Event weapon banners feature two five-star and five four-star weapons. The pool also consists of standard banner characters (only four star) and weapons (up to five star). The pity system guarantees you the following.

  • Five-star weapon: one every 80 wishes
  • Four-star character or weapon: one every 10 wishes

You can choose which five-star weapon to aim for by charting an Epitomized Path. However, you're only guaranteed to get your chosen five star at the third pity. For example, if you chart an Epitomized Path for Memory of Dust:

  1. You obtain Skyward Blade within 90 pulls.
  2. You obtain Amos' Bow within 90 pulls.
  3. You're finally guaranteed Memory of Dust within 90 pulls.

If you're lucky, you can get your chosen weapon within the first pity. But if you're a free-to-player, the best strategy is to save three pities worth of Primogems before aiming for a weapon.

Related: Redhorn Stonethresher: How to get, Ascension, stats, and who can use it in Genshin Impact

How to count pity in Genshin Impact

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

Head to any banner and click History to view your pulls from the same banner type over the past six months. Click the next button until you see your last five-star pull, then count from there. Keep in mind that new pulls take about an hour to show up.

How does pity reset in Genshin Impact?

Pity resets as soon as you get the guarantee. So, if you pull for five-star Qiqi in 30 wishes, you're not guaranteed another five-star in 60 pulls. Instead, your pity will reset, so your guarantee is at another 90 pulls. The same applies to four stars and weapons.

Does event banner pity carry over in Genshin Impact?

Event banner pity carries over to future banners. So, if you made 40 pulls in Ayato's banner, you only need 50 more to guarantee a five-star in the next featured character banner. The same goes for the weapon banner—but keep in mind that your progress in the Epitomized Path does not carry over.

Check out our guide on What is Soft Pity in Genshin Impact? Pity system, explained to know your chances of getting a five star early.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Nicki is a freelance writer with 5 years of writing experience. She's a fan of anything from HoYoverse, from Genshin Impact to Tears of Themis and Honkai: Star Rail. She also loves rhythm games like BanG Dream! and D4DJ.


How does the pity system work in Genshin Impact?

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.