Elder Scrolls Online Step-By-step Guide: How to play ESO in Chronological Order

Elder Scrolls Online in order!

The Elder Scrolls Online is an expansive MMORPG that is constantly updated with new content and stories for you to explore and discover. Starting the game for the first time can be challenging—not only do you need to pick a class, but you'll need to pick a location to start from the Keywright's Gallery Tutorial. If you want to complete the story of ESO in Chronological Order, here is the full list.

Image via Bethesda

Starting a brand new character in Elder Scrolls Online will place you in the Keywright's Gallery tutorial. This brief introduction to the game will teach you the basic mechanics of Elder Scrolls Online before giving you the option to pick a Portal. These portals will take you to different locations around Tamriel and start different quest lines.

Main Quest

Image via Bethesda

At the end of the Keywright's Gallery tutorial, you can pick a location to begin your journey in Tamriel. There are several portals here that will take you to the starting location for the chapters or the main story. To start at the beginning, choose your faction's portal:

  • Daggerfall Covenant: Stros M'Kai
  • Aldmeri Dominion: Khenarthi's Roost
  • Ebonheart Pact: Bleakrock Isle

Cadwell's Silver & Gold

Image via Bethesda

After you have completed the main story, Cadwell will ask you to experience Tamriel through the eyes of your enemies. This will allow you to complete the main story for the remaining two factions. It is important to do this step as characters in each faction's main story will appear in the DLCs.


Image via Bethesda

Craglorn is a small zone that previously was a group questing zone. It has since been changed to be able to complete the zone solo (except for the 12-man Trials). This zone can be started by talking to the Star-Gazer Herald at any Capital City: Elden Root, Mournhold, or Wayrest.

Imperial City

Image via Bethesda

Imperial City is a PvP zone with a story quest line and two PvE Dungeons. The story will start by opening the Alliance War screen and queueing for a campaign. The quest is called City on the Brink.


Image via Bethesda

Orsinium will take you to the mountains of Wrothgar, a zone run by Orcs. This questline can be started by talking to Stuga in any Capital City: Elden Root, Mournhold, or Wayrest.

Thieves Guild (Hew's Bane)

Image via Bethesda

The Thieves Guild isn't directly connected to the main narrative of Elder Scrolls Online, but it's well worth doing. Visit any Outlaws Refuge in Tamriel and Speak to Quen to join the guild and start thieving.

Dark Brotherhood (The Gold Coast)

Image via Bethesda

Similar to the Thieves Guild, the Dark Brotherhood is a shorter questline following the Dark Brotherhood guild. This is also started in an Outlaws Refuge by talking to Amelie Crowe.

Related: Elder Scrolls Online: High Isle, the land of shady politics and card games – Hands-on impression

Morrowind Chapter

Image via Bethesda

Morrowind was the first Chapter released for Elder Scrolls Online. This Chapter will hit the nostalgic spot for those familiar with The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. It also adds the Warden class to the game. This can be started by entering any Inn in Tamriel and talking to Alessio Guillon.

The Clockwork City

Image via Bethesda

The Clockwork City is the conclusion of the Morrowind story arc. This questline can be commenced by talking to Eldrasea Deras in the City Center in Mournhold or by traveling to the Clockwork City Wayshrine.

Summerset Chapter

Image via Bethesda

Summerset takes place on an island home to the Altmer. This chapter follows the leaders of the Aldmeri Dominion as they uncover a Daedric plot. The chapter can be started from your Collections Tab or by traveling to the Summerset Isles.


Image via Bethesda

Murkmire is a small swamp run by the Argonians. While this is the end of the Summerset Chapter, it doesn't directly connect to Summerset's story. The quest can be started in your Collections tab.

Elsweyr Chapter

Image via Bethesda

Elsweyr sees the return of characters from the main storyline and takes you to the home of the Khajiit. This chapter has a good prologue quest that should be completed before traveling to Elsweyr. This can be done by traveling to Vukel Guard, Daggerfall, or Davon's Watch and talking to Anais Davaux.


Image via Bethesda

Taking place in Southen Elsweyr, Dragonhold concludes the Year of the Dragon content. You will team up with Sai Sahan to take on this final threat. The story can be started from your Collections tab.

Greymoor Chapter

Image via Bethesda

The Greymoor Chapter takes place in Western Skyrim and will see you exploring familiar locations from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, such as Solitude and its surrounding locations. The prologue quest can be started at any Capital City's Fighter's Guild by talking to the Skald King's Agent.


Image via Bethesda

Markarth takes place in The Reach. It is the conclusion of the Greymoor Chapter and plants seeds for the Blackwood Chapter. This is another smaller zone similar to Dragonhold. You can start the quest by traveling to Markarth or by starting it in your Collections Tab.

Blackwood Chapter

Image via Bethesda

Blackwood is the fifth major Chapter in Elder Scrolls Online and has a prologue quest like the others. The Gates of Oblivion have opened, and Mehrunes Dagon attempts to wreak havoc on Tamriel. This chapter also adds the Companions to the game, allowing you to have an NPC join you on your quests. This can be started by talking to Rogatus Cinna in either Elden Root, Daggerfall, or Mournhold. The main quest can be started by traveling to Leyawiin Outskirt Wayshrine.


Image via Bethesda

Deadlands will take you into the heart of Mehrunes Dagon's realm, to Fargrave to finish the Daedric Prince's narrative arc. You can start this quest by traveling to Fargrave Outskirts Wayshrine.

High Isle Chapter

Image via Bethesda

High Isle is the latest chapter in Elder Scrolls Online. This chapter takes you to a previously unseen region of Tamriel, the home of the Bretons. It also adds the Tales of Tribute card game. This can be started by talking to Jakarn in either Elden Root, Daggerfall, or Mournhold. The main quest can be started by traveling to Westbay Wayshrine.

For more on Elder Scrolls Online guides, check out What is the Ascendant Order in Elder Scrolls Online: High Isle? here on Pro Game Guides.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

I'm a writer with a passion for video games, basketball, reading and everything in between. My favourite genres are RPGs and the occasional shooter. When I'm not writing, I'm playing with my two cats or watching basketball.
Find Jordan Tyack On: Twitter

Write A Comment

Elder Scrolls Online Step-By-step Guide: How to play ESO in Chronological Order

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.