All Star Ocean Games in Order – Star Ocean Game Timeline

Learn the ins and outs of the Star Ocean series.

Star Ocean is a classic action RPG series that was first developed by tri-Ace and published by Square Enix. The series made dramatic steps forward within the RPG genre with new mechanics, such as allowing the player to alter the story's course through actions and dialogue. With numerous accolades and titles in the series, you may be curious about the Star Ocean timeline.

All Star Ocean Games, in Release Order

The Star Ocean series began in 1996. The first title in the series released for the Famicon in Japan. Since then, the series has been expanded with numerous sequels, the newest being Star Ocean: The Divine Force. Here are all Star Ocean games in order of release date.

  • Star Ocean – 1996
  • Star Ocean: The Second Story – 1998
  • Star Ocean: Blue Sphere – 2001
  • Star Ocean: Till the End of Time – 2003
  • Star Ocean: First Departure(Remake) – 2007
  • Star Ocean: Second Evolution(Remake) – 2008
  • Star Ocean: The Last Hope – 2009
  • Star Ocean: Blue Sphere(Remake) – 2009
  • Star Ocean: Material Trader(Delisted) – 2013
  • Star Ocean: Integrity and Faithlessness – 2016
  • Star Ocean: Anamnesis – 2016
  • Star Ocean: The Divine Force –2022

Related: All characters and voice actors in Star Ocean The Divine Force

All Star Ocean Games in Chronological Order

One thing to note is that the Star Ocean timeline does not necessarily follow the release order. There are numerous remakes in the series, and some titles occur in-game before others. We have excluded some titles, as they are either remakes or spin-offs and not crucial to the story. Here is how to play the main Star Ocean games chronologically in the in-game universe:

  • Star Ocean: The Last Hope
  • Star Ocean / Star Ocean: First Departure
  • Star Ocean: The Second Story / Star Ocean: Second Evolution
  • Star Ocean: Blue Sphere
  • Star Ocean: Integrity and Faithlessness
  • Star Ocean: Anamnesis
  • Star Ocean: The Divine Force
  • Star Ocean: Till the End of Time

For more information on gaming, check out What’s new in the Xenoblade Chronicles 3 battle system? and What are Heroes in Xenoblade Chronicles 3? New classes & more! on Pro Game Guides.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Justin has been diving into fantasy worlds since he can remember. He is a certified nerd who has a deep love of reading, writing, and eating as much food as humanly possible. You can typically find him taking shelter from the sun playing video games or braving the elements in order to walk his two adorable Australian Shepherds.
Find Justin Joy On: Twitter

Write A Comment

All Star Ocean Games in Order – Star Ocean Game Timeline

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.