What is the main progression route in Elden Ring?

Complete the story quickly!

In Elden Ring, players will have to face certain storyline bosses to follow the main progression of the game. While it's easy to get distracted by the countless NPCs or other hidden bosses, players will only have to eliminate a number of bosses to get the Age of Fracture ending in the game. We have calculated the main progression route for players, which starts from Limgrave and eventually ends at Lyndell.

Elden Ring game progression route guide

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

We have guides for many of the Elden Ring bosses on this page, they are hyperlinked on their names below.

Players will start the game at West Limgrave. From here, you will have to travel toward Stormveil Castle to face Margit, the Fell Omen, and Godrick the Grafted. While several players tend to skip Stormveil Castle, we recommend defeating these two bosses as they are relatively easier than other Shardbearers. Next, you will have to travel from Stormveil Castle to Raya Lucaria Academy via Liurnia of Lakes.

Rennala, Queen of the Full Moon is the second Shardbearer to beat, and players will have to collect the Academy Glintstone Key to enter this region. After exploring the area, players will reach the Debate Parlor Site of Grace where they have to defeat the Red Wolf of Radagon. Make your way through the courtyard to reach the Raya Lucaria Grand Library to face Rennalla. 

Once that's done, you will have to travel toward Altus Plateau. Players will have to collect both medallions to activate The Grand Lift of Rold that unlocks Altus Plateau and Lyndell, the Royal Capital. Lyndell, is one of the main locations in the game, and this is where players will face the final bosses of the game. To enter Lyndell, players will need two Great Runes from any of the Shardbearers.

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

Related: Best PvE Classes in Elden Ring

You can fight the Draconic Tree Sentinel or progress in Fia's questline to avoid fighting this boss before entering Lyndell. Players will have to fight the shade version of Godfrey, First Elden Lord after reaching the Erdtree Sanctuary Site of Grace. Defeat him and make your way toward the Elden Throne Site of Grace to face Morgott, the Omen King.

After defeating Morgott, players will have to travel to the Mountaintops of Giants to face the Fire Giant. You will also need to find both medallions for the Grand Lift of Dectus to reach this region. Defeat the Fire Giant and interact with Melina at Forge of the Fire Giants Site of Grace for burning the Erdtree.

Screenshot by Pro Game Guides

Related: Where to find Loretta Knight of the Haligtree in Elden Ring

Players will be teleported to Crumbling Farum Azula after burning the Erdtree and interacting with Melina. This is where you will face the Godskin Duo and the Beast Clergyman, who later becomes Maliketh, the Black Blade. Defeat this demigod to reach Lyndell, Ashen Capital.

Make your way toward the Elden Throne after reaching the capital city. Here, you will face Sir Gideon Ofnir, the All-Knowing from the Roundtable Hold. Once you defeat this boss, go toward the Elden Throne to face Godfrey, First Elden Lord. He will later turn into Hoarah Loux, Warrior and is one of the strongest endgame bosses in Elden Ring.

Final Storyline Bosses of Elden Ring

The final two storyline bosses are Radagon and the Elden Beast, and you can defeat them after entering the Erdtree from the Elden Throne Site of Grace at Lyndell. Players should keep in mind that the main progression route will depend on the bosses they face. You will unlock areas like the Roundtable Hold, and can choose to complete various NPC questlines, including Fia, Ranni, Millicent, and others.

Wondering which boss weapons to acquire early in the game? Check out Best Boss Weapons in Elden Ring on Pro Game Guides.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get updates on your favorite games!

About the Author

Dipanjan Dey started his gaming journey with Doom 2 and Contra: Legacy of War back in 1997. Naturally, he gravitated to RPGs and FPS titles like Call of Duty, Halo, and CS:GO. Dipanjan has been coverings stories and writing about video games for the past five years. For the past year, Dipanjan has been working as a Contributing Author for Pro Game Guides, covering shooter games like Fortnite, Apex Legends, and CoD!
Find Dipanjan Dey On: Twitter

Write A Comment

What is the main progression route in Elden Ring?

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.